Photo: Stephen Lew – USA Today Sports

NEWS: LSU star linebacker Devin White has won the 2018 Butkus Award, given to the nation’s top linebacker.

White becomes the first Butkus Award winner in program history, earning this year’s trophy over Josh Allen (Kentucky), Devin Bush (Michigan), Tre Lamar (Clemson) and Dylan Moses (Alabama). White is also the first LSU Tiger to win a national award since Odell Beckham Jr. won the Paul Hornung Award in 2013.

In his third year in Baton Rouge, White has totaled 278 tackles with 29.0 tackles for loss and 8.5 sacks. He is currently a projected Top-10 draft choice in the upcoming NFL Draft and will go down as one of LSU’s all-time greats.